MD 1/2 Marathon Helped Greatly Towards 3-Day Training

logoThe Maryland Half Marathon was great practice for the Breast Cancer 3-Day Walk. Yesterday, Sunday, May 31st was the Inaugural Maryland Half Marathon which started at the Maryland State Fairgrounds and wound it’s way through a lovely golf course and beautiful Timonium neighborhoods. Admittedly, I didn’t train for this as I should have because I am not much of a runner – however the four miles I walk every morning through West Towson to get ready for the 60 mile, 3 day Breast Cancer event, was definitely a great help.  A girl friend of mine did the 1/2 marathon with me and we found ourselves in a nice running/walking pattern that allowed us to finish in just under 3 hours (good thing we didn’t stop at that spot-a-pot!). Not so bad for our first attempt with minimal training. As I continue to accumulate training miles for the 3-Day I will be participating in other 5ks around town. After feeling extremely motivated yesterday, I signed up for the New Balance Women’s 5k for the end of June. After my 13.1 mile run/walk, I’m feeling confident about entirely running a little over 3 miles. Well, only 3 whole months left until my boyfriend and I head out to Seattle for our first 60 mi walk in 3 days of the year – will keep you posted on our progress! Thanks for reading! To Donate to our walk please go to: http://www.the3day.org/goto/soles4souls.

Leave a Reply

